osRose's mob spawning

Here you can talk about anything you want ;)

Moderators: osRose dev team, ospRose dev team, osiRose dev team, Moderators

osRose's mob spawning

Postby Jckf on Sun Dec 05, 2010 10:43 am

How does it work? I've been looking at your mobgroups table, and figured it was "spawn <LIMIT> mobs from this group to <X> <Y> randomized", but I can't find it in source.

My questions are really:
How many mobs to load from each mob group?
Which mobs to load from each mob group?
Where to spawn these mobs? (all mobs in a group can't spawn in the same place!)
User avatar
Jckf
Antares
Antares
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 1:09 am
Location: Norway

Re: osRose's mob spawning

Postby PurpleYouko on Sun Dec 05, 2010 6:45 pm

each mob group has its own map, X and Y coordinates, radius(range), respawntime, limit (max number of mobs in the spawn), tactical points and finally the mob list . Within that radius the

Map, X and Y, radius and respawntime are pretty obvious but the others are not so much

Limit is the maximum number of mobs that the spawn can ever contain. it is NOT the number of monsters to spawn.

Tactical points is a bit weird. I still don't really like the way that Drakia used this. It is a limit for a counter that determines when to spawn the tactical mobs (bosses) if they exist within a spawn

The mob list contains the actual mobs to be spawned, the number to spawn and the type of spawn. Entries are seperated by a | symbol

The first entry in the database is this
id = 1
map = 62
X coord = 5276.19
Y coord = 5307.15
Radius(range) = 20
respawn time = 30 (seconds)
limit = 1
tactical points = 100
Mob list = 502,2,0

so we spawn 2 X monster 502 of type 0 (NOT tactical mobs) at the given coordinates on the given map within a circle defined by range

This entry unfortunate has a bit of a contradiction. 2 mobs exceeds the limit value.

All this data is ripped directly from the IFO files but I'm almost certain that we aren't reading it quite right because if you go into the real game and camp a specific spawn, it doesn't follow this format precisely.
I use a somewhat different spawn system myself.
Need to lookup information on NARose items, skills, quests?
Now featuring a newly completed skill tree for all classes
Formatting fixed for different resolutions
Image

"A Gazelle is nothing but a giraffe plotted logarithmicaly"
User avatar
PurpleYouko
Rose Guru
Rose Guru
 
Posts: 4733
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 2:05 pm

Re: osRose's mob spawning

Postby Jckf on Mon Dec 06, 2010 2:33 am

Aha. So the limit is for the entire mob group? I used it as a limit for each group in the group, which gave me many MANY mobs =P

Do you mind explaining your system too?

EDIT: Thanks alot btw =)

EDIT 2: I don't think I understand it yet x) Attached a screenshot of how many mobs I get in Adventurer's Plains. Alot better than earlier, but still looks like too many.

EDIT 3: There are 626 mobs in Adv. Plains with my code.
Attachments
many mobs.png
User avatar
Jckf
Antares
Antares
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 1:09 am
Location: Norway

Re: osRose's mob spawning

Postby PurpleYouko on Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:03 pm

just remember that when there is more than one spawn in the moblist in a given db entry you have to spawn them sequentially.
When all the mobs in the first entry of the list are killed then you spawn the ones in the second entry.
Don't spawn them all at once
Need to lookup information on NARose items, skills, quests?
Now featuring a newly completed skill tree for all classes
Formatting fixed for different resolutions
Image

"A Gazelle is nothing but a giraffe plotted logarithmicaly"
User avatar
PurpleYouko
Rose Guru
Rose Guru
 
Posts: 4733
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 2:05 pm

Re: osRose's mob spawning

Postby Jckf on Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:05 am

Aha! Much better! Thanks again =D
User avatar
Jckf
Antares
Antares
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 1:09 am
Location: Norway


Return to Welcome to the bar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron