Successfully Created Character but Client Crash when played

I'm sure there will be a TON of bugs discovered. List them here and we will cross them off the list as they are fixed.

Re: Successfully Created Character but Client Crash when pla

Postby hlajr on Thu Sep 15, 2016 2:42 am

Circa wrote:Did you download the 3DData folder from the Pre-Extracted VFS thread and put it in your client?


Yes, I have downloaded it last week end and copied it over the client 3DData and using PY updated TROSE.exe but still having an error and the client crashed.

I have been using all the server binaries here, not yet learned to compile my own.

Sorry I cant post now the error captured coz it was on my PC at home, now just using mobile phone to peek here...
Doing the right thing is the right thing to do!
User avatar
hlajr
Smoulie
Smoulie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:21 am

Re: Successfully Created Character but Client Crash when pla

Postby PurpleYouko on Thu Sep 15, 2016 2:52 pm

It's so darn frustrating that some people can get it to work immediately while others just can't. :?

I have no idea why.
Need to lookup information on NARose items, skills, quests?
Now featuring a newly completed skill tree for all classes
Formatting fixed for different resolutions
Image

"A Gazelle is nothing but a giraffe plotted logarithmicaly"
User avatar
PurpleYouko
Rose Guru
Rose Guru
 
Posts: 4733
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 2:05 pm

Re: Successfully Created Character but Client Crash when pla

Postby Dibella on Thu Sep 15, 2016 7:06 pm

Hey PY, I basically have the same issue.

Attached is my Client Logs, Ill clear them for you till the correct date :)

ClientLog.log
Client Log
(70.27 KiB) Downloaded 589 times

InOutpackets.log
InOutPackets
(18.27 KiB) Downloaded 588 times



So basically what happens is, I can login and I can create my character. But as soon as I press the play button it just crashes... "Close program or find solution dialog" where as the previous problem was the VFS where it would give numerous errors.

Regards,
Dibella
Dibella
Smoulie
Smoulie
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 8:49 pm

Re: Successfully Created Character but Client Crash when pla

Postby PurpleYouko on Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:44 pm

Both of those logs show that the last thing the server did was to send the 0x0716 packet containing the inventory items for the character that just logged in.
The packet was received and process successfully by the client

What does your WorldserverVS consol look like?

it should print out 3 lines from this code in pakdoidentify()
  1. pakPlayer(thisclient);
  2.     Log( MSG_INFO, "Character '%s' completed pakPlayer", thisclient->CharInfo->charname);
  3.     pakInventory(thisclient);
  4.     Log( MSG_INFO, "Character '%s' completed pakInventory", thisclient->CharInfo->charname);
  5.     pakQuestData(thisclient);
  6.     Log( MSG_INFO, "Character '%s' completed pakQuestData", thisclient->CharInfo->charname);

your logs show that it is completing pakPlayer and possibly pakInventory but it isn't sending pakQuestData

This actually looks like a server crash
Need to lookup information on NARose items, skills, quests?
Now featuring a newly completed skill tree for all classes
Formatting fixed for different resolutions
Image

"A Gazelle is nothing but a giraffe plotted logarithmicaly"
User avatar
PurpleYouko
Rose Guru
Rose Guru
 
Posts: 4733
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 2:05 pm

Re: Successfully Created Character but Client Crash when pla

Postby hlajr on Sat Sep 17, 2016 4:14 am

I had tried to download the current repo on github for the server and used the updated WorldServer.

The client works and I was able to go beyond the character selection and was able to play with my 1st character.

However, graphics display started to fade and I just try to go back to Char Selection and choose my 2nd Character, it stood up and run, then instead of reappearing in-game, the client crashed.

I try to restart my computer and re run both server and client but as before, I can no longer again go beyond character selection.

Weird...
User avatar
hlajr
Smoulie
Smoulie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:21 am

Re: Successfully Created Character but Client Crash when pla

Postby PurpleYouko on Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:42 pm

I've had a ton of weird stuff like characters that will no longer load.
It pretty much always turned out to be a conflict in the quests and/or skills

I thought I had all that stuff fixed though.

I've never known graphics to fade though. that's a bit strange
Need to lookup information on NARose items, skills, quests?
Now featuring a newly completed skill tree for all classes
Formatting fixed for different resolutions
Image

"A Gazelle is nothing but a giraffe plotted logarithmicaly"
User avatar
PurpleYouko
Rose Guru
Rose Guru
 
Posts: 4733
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 2:05 pm

Re: Successfully Created Character but Client Crash when pla

Postby hlajr on Sun Sep 25, 2016 3:48 pm

PurpleYouko wrote:I've had a ton of weird stuff like characters that will no longer load.
It pretty much always turned out to be a conflict in the quests and/or skills

I thought I had all that stuff fixed though.

I've never known graphics to fade though. that's a bit strange


I believe the fading is on my computer as I am only using on-board graphics and not a dedicated gpu.

though I was rely confused why the game suddenly reverted into crashing after an initial successful login.

will try again some time and see if it would remain problematic.
Last edited by hlajr on Mon Sep 26, 2016 6:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
hlajr
Smoulie
Smoulie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:21 am

Re: Successfully Created Character but Client Crash when pla

Postby lazypenguin on Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:35 pm

I found that setting trose.exe to run as administrator resolved some issues for me on Windows 10.
lazypenguin
Pomic
Pomic
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 6:51 am

Re: Successfully Created Character but Client Crash when pla

Postby hlajr on Mon Sep 26, 2016 6:30 am

lazypenguin wrote:I found that setting trose.exe to run as administrator resolved some issues for me on Windows 10.


Nice tip.

However, I'm still using XP SP3... I hope it was not OS related...

Anyway, does Project 137 needs or have dependency to any Microsoft Framework like .NET or C++ Redistributable thingy? Though I have already a tons of those installed on my OS.
User avatar
hlajr
Smoulie
Smoulie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:21 am

Re: Successfully Created Character but Client Crash when pla

Postby PurpleYouko on Mon Sep 26, 2016 2:52 pm

It does require the basic windows SDK runtimes. It uses MSVCRT.dll among others
That's the thing that is giving me grief right now with getting it working in release mode. It compiles fine but errors out with some crappy message relating to this dll in some way that I am unable to trace yet.
Need to lookup information on NARose items, skills, quests?
Now featuring a newly completed skill tree for all classes
Formatting fixed for different resolutions
Image

"A Gazelle is nothing but a giraffe plotted logarithmicaly"
User avatar
PurpleYouko
Rose Guru
Rose Guru
 
Posts: 4733
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 2:05 pm

Previous

Return to BUGS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron